Categories
Events

Annual Trade Show

Annual Trade Show

2022 Annual Trade Show
April 6, 2022 (Wednesday)
12 pm – 5 pm

Pasadena Convention Center
300 E Green St. Pasadena, CA 91101

More Info: Coming Soon…

Categories
Events

Members Meet

Members Meet

person holding pencil near laptop computer

FOASC holds Meeting Members only (In-Person)
2nd or 3rd Wednesday of the Month
3 PM –  6 PM

Next FOASC Members Meeting (In-Person) Dates:

           May 25, 2022
            3:00 PM – 6:00 PM PST
            Wednesday
            Venue: Diamond Palace
            1241 Grand Ave, Diamond Bar, CA 91765

July 20, 2022
3:00 PM – 6:00 PM PST
Wednesday

September 21, 2022
3:00 PM – 6:00 PM PST
Wednesday

November 16, 2022
3:00 PM – 6:00 PM PST
Wednesday

Agenda: 
Coming Soon…

 

Categories
Events

Meeting : Board of Directors

Meeting : Board of Directors

selective focus photography of people sitting on chairs while writing on notebooks

FOASC Board of Directors holds Monthly Meeting
every 2nd or 3rd Wednesday of the Month.

Meeting Dates:
Jan 19, 2022 from 12 PM – 3 PM
Feb 16, 2022 from 12 PM – 3 PM
May 25, 2022 from 12 PM – 3 PM
Jul 20, 2022 from 12 PM – 3 PM
Aug 17, 2022 from 12 PM – 3 PM
Sep 21, 2022 from 12 PM – 3 PM
Oct 19, 2022 from 12 PM – 3 PM
Nov 16, 2022 from 12 PM – 3 PM

Categories
News

Franchise Renewal Fee Estimator and Agreement Impact Model

Franchise Renewal Fee Estimator and Agreement Impact Model

To calculate Franchise Renewal Fee Estimate or New Agreement Financial Impact, Click below to download the Excel file. 

Categories
News

California Minimum Wage

California Minimum Wage

Be sure to abide by California state law regarding paying your employees minimum wage.

Frequently Asked Questions

1. What is the minimum wage?
Effective January 1, 2021, the minimum wage increases to $14 per hour for employers with 26 or more employees and $13 per hour for employees with 25 or fewer employees. The minimum wage shall be adjusted on a yearly basis through 2023 according to the pre-set schedule shown above.

2. What is the difference between the local, state and federal minimum wage?
Most employers in California are subject to both the federal and state minimum wage laws. Also, local entities (cities and counties) are allowed to enact minimum wage rates and several cities have recently adopted ordinances which establish a higher minimum wage rate for employees working within their local jurisdiction. The effect of this multiple coverage by different government sources is that when there are conflicting requirements in the laws, the employer must follow the stricter standard; that is, the one that is the most beneficial to the employee. 

3. May an employee agree to work for less than the minimum wage?
No. The minimum wage is an obligation of the employer and cannot be waived by any agreement, including collective bargaining agreements. Any remedial legislation written for the protection of employees may not be violated by agreement between the employer and employee.

4. Is the minimum wage the same for both adult and minor employees?
Yes. There is no distinction made between adults and minors when it comes to payment of the minimum wage.

 

Categories
News

CA Tabacco Ban Info

CA Tabacco Ban Info

California Flavored Tobacco Ban Suspended
A California law banning the sale of flavored tobacco products was placed on hold Friday, January 22nd after State Officials said a Referendum by Tobacco industry qualified for the November 2022 ballot. Tobacco companies collected more than 1 million signatures on the referendum to overturn the ban. This means that stores WILL NOT need to discontinue selling flavored tobacco/menthol cigarettes starting January 2021.

This announcement means the SB-793 law approved last year by the Legislature and signed by the Governor is suspended until California voters decide on November 2022 whether to affirm or repeal the ban.
Categories
News

Sexual Harassment Training and Awareness

Sexual Harassment Training and Awareness

This training is required by California Law for all California businesses that have 5 or more employees.

A certificate of completion will be provided to everyone that successfully passes all assessments contained in this training. 

FOASC counsel, Mandeep (Bobby) Rupal is offering free training for all FOASC members. Click on below link to access the training program.

> Sexual Harassment Training and Awareness
Categories
News

COVID-19 Information and Updates

COVID-19 Information and Updates

During this novel coronavirus pandemic, we understand the concern and frustration everyone is facing. We are committed to keeping employees and customers safe. Please remind your staff to stay home if they are feeling sick and to sanitize the store as outlined by 7-Eleven.

We will get through these very difficult and trying times together. Please feel free to reach with any questions you may have.

As confirmed with SEI, per CEO Joe DePinto’s email last week regarding closing stores that franchisees have the choice to remain open or close their store between the hours of 12am-5am. Please coordinate with your Field Consultant as this will be a store by store scenario.

Franchisee options:

  • Remain open
  • Close store for 1-5 hours between 12am-5am and keep an employee on duty to receive shipments and clean/sanitize store
  • Close completely store if you have a staffing problem

If you choose to close and lock your store with no employees and a break-in occurs broken windows are covered by 7-Eleven and any stolen merchandise is covered by insurance.